Breakfast is always Whole30-ish; I feel my best when I start the day with protein, healthy fat, veggies, and fruit. Eggs and berries are one of my favorite combinations. It’s surprisingly delicious, especially when you let the berries heat up a bit so they get explode-y in the pan. Today, I ate eggs soft-scrambled with blueberries, blackberries, baby spinach, fresh basil, and chopped walnuts. I’m a huge fan of protein salads (we have a recipe on page 161 in The Whole30), using either canned chicken, salmon, or tuna as a base. You can make it ahead of time, double the batch, and have lunch ready in five minutes flat. Stuff it into a hollowed-out pepper, place it in lettuce leaves, or spread it on top of fresh romaine or arugula, as I’ve done here. You can throw just about anything into a protein salad, and my theory is the more, the better. This is canned Wild Planet organic chicken with Primal Kitchen mayo, apple cider vinegar, celery, green apple, red pepper, dried cranberries (sweetened with apple juice, for Whole30 compliance), scallions, and slivered almonds on top of a mix of baby greens. You could drizzle this with your favorite balsamic, but I like just a sprinkle of sea salt. I like having a side of Zupa Noma drinkable soup with lunch—I think of it as extra-nutritious hydration. This is a Whole30 play on Bolognese; ground beef with diced summer squash, onion, and mushrooms with fresh basil ribbons in a tomato sauce, over “zoodles” (zucchini noodles). I always make a double-batch, so tomorrow’s lunch or dinner will feature the same meat-and-veggie combo over a different base to keep things fresh. Want more of Melissa? She shared her incredibly personal, emotional journey with mbg founder Jason Wachob on the mbg podcast! Listen in here. Photo credit: Taylor Gage

What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 94What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 23What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 57What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 1What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 26What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 96What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 70What Whole30 Founder Melissa Hartwig Eats In A Day - 50