When we engage in conscious breathing, we activate our parasympathetic nervous system and flood the body with oxygen, presence, and peace while releasing worry, stress, limiting beliefs, and energy that does not serve us. There are many types of breathwork techniques. Each has a unique purpose and creates a different effect. As I inhale over the count of 4 seconds, I imagine the grounded and nourishing energy of the earth, mountains, trees, plants, coming up into my body. As I hold my breath for 7 seconds, I visualize that energy spiraling up the center of my body (through the seven energetic chakras) and extracting any energy or thought that does not serve me. Then, as I exhale over 8 seconds, I imagine that excess energy releasing out of the mouth and visualize light pouring through the top of my head back down to my feet and the earth below me.  Try it sitting up in bed as you’re winding down for sleep, imagining that you are releasing the stress of the day with each 8-second exhale. It should get you in a great headspace for sleep, but you can also follow it up with another relaxing nightly ritual like journaling, reading a physical book, or smelling calming essential oils. Gwen integrates 17 years of pharmaceutical, biotech, and device consulting, management, and auditing, as well as 12 years of experience in trauma healing, sobriety, wellness, breathwork, and soul medicine. She draws upon her intuitive gifts and her own personal healing journey from disease to well-being, addiction to sobriety, corporate to entrepreneurship, singlehood to being a mother of two, and marriage to divorce. In addition to coaching virtual and in-person executive, corporate, and individual clients, Gwen offers group coaching and online courses and is available for public speaking engagements. Gwen specializes in helping high-achievers use life lessons as their greatest spiritual opportunities. You can listen to Gwen coach clients on a myriad of business and life challenges in her podcast, The Beautiful Grit. Her coaching tips and tools have also been featured in Well & Good, and is a member of the Forbes Coach Council.

4 7 8 Breathing For Sleep  Benefits  Tips   How To - 584 7 8 Breathing For Sleep  Benefits  Tips   How To - 384 7 8 Breathing For Sleep  Benefits  Tips   How To - 46